Masterclass and jury

Besides his teaching at The Royal Danish Academy of Music Morten Zeuthen has been guest professor overseas, served in honorary offices and been part of international jurys on many occasions.

Since 1997 Zeuthen has taken part in the Chamber Music Festival “Thy Masterclass”, a wonderful two-week event of international standard with highly gifted young professionals from all over the world. Zeuthen is one of five expierienced international musicians that play together with the young professionals..

More details, see

He has been the artistic leader of two cellomasterclasses at Engelsholm Højskole and taught at the cello course in Lolland, Denmark. He has also been gust professor in Norway, Sweden, Germany, Israel and Chicago, USA.

The last years he has been in much demand as a guest professor in Central Music Conservatorium, Beijing, Middle School, Beijing, Krakow Music Academy, Poland, Hochschule f¨r Music, Karlsruhe, Northwestern University, Chicago, and New World Symphony, Miami.

Zeuthen is teaching on Distant Learning Technology on a regular basis to Maimi and Manhattan School of Music

In recent years he has served in jurys in Det Norske Strykermesterskap, Den Danske Strygerkonkurrence, Øresunds Solist, as well as the UNISA-konkurrencen in South Africa, 2010.

This is a list of prizes and competitions won by students whilst studying with Morten Zeuthen:

  • Ida Franck, DFM, Århus Symphony Orchestra (1984)
  • Helle Sørensen (DFM) Radiounderholdningsorkestret 1. solo in 1988
  • Henrik Dam Thomsen, DKDM: Radiosymfoniorkestret, 2. solo, 1st solocellist 2008.
  • Jakob Kullberg, DKDM, Den danske Strygerkonkurrence, 3. pris (2005)
  • Jakob Kullberg, P2’s Kammermusikkonkurrence 1. pris, (2006)
  • Jakob Kullberg: Tysk Kammermusikkonkurrence, (2006)
  • Johann Krarup, DKDM Radiosymfoniorkestret. (2004)
  • Jan Harald Halvorsen, DKDM, Radiounderholdningsorkestret, 2. solo (2000)
  • Janne Fredens DKDM Ozaka Chamber Music Competition 1st Prize (2003)
  • Janne Fredens: CD of the Month, The Strad, (2005)
  • Toke Møldrup, Melbourne Chamber Music Competition Prize (2005)
  • Toke Møldrup: Young Talent of the Year, Eoropean Broadcasting Unions competition for young musicians. 2007.
  • Niklai Skliarevski: DKDM: Sønderjyllands Symfoniorkester, 2. solo (2002)
  • Katarina Bazanova, DKDM: Århus Symfoniorkester 2. solo, (2001)
  • Pias Enblom, DKDM: Göteborg Symfoniorkester, (2007)
  • Carl Oskar Østerlind: 1. prisvinder i P2-prisen med Den Unge Danske Strygekvartet, (2002)
  • Janne Fredens: Randers Kammerensemble, (2008)
  • Toke Møldrup: 1st solocellist, Sjællands Symfoniorkester (2008)
  • Amelis Jakobsen: Ljunggrenska Tävlingen, 2. pris, (2008)
  • Carl Oskar Østerlind: Ljunggrenska Tävlingen, 2. pris
  • Carl Oskar Østerlind: Den Danske Strygerkonkurrence, 1. pris, 2010
  • Jacob Shaw: 3rd price at The Danish String Competition, 2011
  • Jacob Shaw: in the finals at Wilhelmina Suggia competition, Porto, Portugal, 2011
  • Signe Bitch: 14 år: 1. price at Berlingske Musikonkurrence, 2012
  • Jacob Shaw: 1. price at The danish String Competition, 2012

Now Zeuthens cello class has won first price in the only Danish competition for string players under 30 year

  • Magdalena Brostek, solocellist at Pori Sinfonietta, Finland, 2012
  • Signe Bitch: 14 år, 1. pris ved Berlingske Musikonkurrence, 2012
  • Signe Bitch, 15 år, 2. price at Øresunds Konkurrencen 2013
  • Louisa Schwab, april 2012: First principal, Malmo Opera
  • Louisa Schwab, 1. solo cellist at Danish National Chamber Orchestra  (RSO) 2013
  • Adam Stadnicki, Malmø Opera Orchestra, 2013
  • Tobias van der Pals, 1. solocellist at Hälsinborg Symfoniorkester 2013
  • Carl Oscar Østerlind, 1. solocellist at Hälsingborg 2013 Symfoniorchestra, both on trial
  • Adam Stadnicki, 2012: permanet cellist in Athelas  Sinfonietta
  • Signe Epstrup Bitch: 2014, Finalist in DR TV competition “Spil for livet”, plus Goldmedal AND The Talent Price 2014, in Berlingske Muisc Competition.
  • Carl Oscar Østerlind, August 2014: Permanent cello position in Dansih Chamber Players.
  • Former students still occasianally studying with Zeuthen, maximum three years after their graduation:
  • Andreas Broch, DKDM , Ålborg Symfoni Orkester (2004)
  • Toke Møldrup, DKDM, Den Danske Strygerkonkurrence, 1. pris 2007
  • Janne Fredens: Malmø Symphony Orchestra, 2008
  • Janne Fredens: Randers Kammerensemble, 2009

© 2021 Morten Zeuthen